laptop on a desk

How to Create, Export and Change Google Classrooms

Overview

With GAT+ Classrooms you can export your Classroom data to a Google Spreadsheet that can be modified and imported back to create, delete and make changes to many Google classroom at once. Using this Export/Import functionality you can copy the format of the information into a new row inside the spreadsheet and simply create multiple classrooms with subjects, teachers, and students. When these are re-imported each new class will be created and you will have the chance to confirm whether it’s correct before it goes live. In this helpful guide, we are going to walk through the steps necessary to create, delete and modify Google classrooms across our Educational G Suite Domain.

Steps to create existing Classrooms

Enter the Course Audit area.

Click on the Export Data button to export a Google Spreadsheet of all of the existing classroom or a subset of classrooms which you have filtered on.

When the exported Spreadsheet appears, find an empty row at the bottom of the existing data and then fill in the following fields:

In the Spreadsheet you can’t modify the following fields:

  • ID (when creating new classrooms, keep ID blank, if a classroom already has an ID do not modify it.) This field is handled automatically by GAT+.
  • It’s not necessary to create or modify the Created (date field). This field is handled automatically by GAT+.

Mandatory fields which need to be filled in:

  • Name
  • State
  • Created By (enter email address)

Optional fields:

  • Description
  • Join Code (if left empty, one will be generated automatically)
  • Section
  • Room
  • State
  • Aliases
  • Teachers (separate emails with a comma)
  • Students (separate emails with a comma)

Once you have finished filling in the information for the new classroom close the Spreadsheet tab.

Now import the spreadsheet by clicking the ‘Import data’ button.

Once you have selected the correct Google Spreadsheet from the list, it will show you a preview what actions will be performed. In the below example you can see the type of import is a CREATE which means a new classroom will be created.


After you are happy with these details click on the Accept button. Once the actions are carried out you should see a message stating whether the operation was successful.

Steps to modify existing Classrooms

The first step is to make sure the data is up to date, refreshing the data if necessary.

Then optionally apply any filters to limit the number of courses to export.  

In the example, we filtered for archived classrooms which were created after May 2018.

Export to the spreadsheet:

In the Spreadsheet you can’t modify the following fields:

  • ID (when creating new classrooms, keep ID blank, if a classroom already has an ID do not modify it.) This field is handled automatically by GAT+.
  • It’s not necessary to create or modify the Created (date field). This field is handled automatically by GAT+.

In the below example, I edited the name of the classroom, I made them ACTIVE again and I changed/added the students and teachers.

Once you have made the changes you desire, close the spreadsheet tab and click on the Import data button.

Confirm the before and after changes. Then click on the Accept button. It will take 60 seconds for the changes to be carried out.

Why modify existing Classrooms?

  • At the end of the school year, you can ARCHIVE classrooms which are not going to be in use next year so to avoid confusing students.
  • Maybe the Description, Room, Enrollment Code, Student email addresses have to be modified because they were set up incorrectly by the teacher or classroom creator.

Steps to delete existing Classrooms

The steps to deleting a classroom are very similar to modify classrooms. The only change you need to make is with the STATE field. Change the STATE field from ACTIVE/ARCHIVED to DELETE. These are the most notable steps.

Make sure to close the spreadsheet down and then click on the ‘Import data’ button. Select the right Spreadsheet and confirm the changes.

Important Information about Google Classroom States

When a classroom is Archived it is still available in a specific section of the Google Classroom website.

An archived classroom can be always restored. But if you delete a classroom it will be permanently removed.

Comments

comments