Google Photos will stop syncing to Drive on July 10, 2019

What’s changing

Starting on July 10, 2019, Google Photos will no longer sync to Google Drive. From that date forward, if you add or delete files in Photos, they won’t be automatically added or deleted in Drive.

Who’s impacted

End users

Why it matters

Google has heard feedback that users they’re confused by the connection between Photos and Drive. They’re hoping this simplified experience is easier for users to understand and navigate.

How to get started

  • End users: Starting July 10, G Suite users will need to manually download items from Photos and upload them to Drive. If they delete files in Photos, they’ll need to manually delete them in Drive as well.

Additional details

Currently, G Suite users can choose to sync Photos to Drive. This means that when they upload a file to Photos, it’s automatically uploaded to the Google Photos folder in Drive. Once these changes go into effect, this folder will stop receiving updates. It won’t go away; it will just stop syncing with Photos.

Unlike consumers, G Suite users do not have the option to show photos from My Drive in Google Photos. If Google Photos is disabled in your organization, your users will not be impacted.

See Google’s post on the Keyword for more details.

Availability

Rollout details

G Suite editions

  • Impacts all editions

On/off by default?

  • This change will take place for all organizations by default.