How to Remove Published Access to a Google Document

‘Published’ documents are created when a specific version of the document is ‘Published to the web’ via the ‘File’ option in a Google document. This creates a link to the version of the document at the point of publishing. This link can be embedded in a web paged or passed in an email. It is searchable by search engines. Subsequent changes to the document will not change the ‘Published’ version.

To remove the ‘Published’ status of the published version you will need to follow the following steps.