- 1 Drive Audit One click table
- 2 File Types
GAT+ can present G Suite Super Admins with a lot of useful summaries relating to sharing permissions in Google Drive, this document will explain each category.
Drive Audit One click table
This is the total number of files and folders owned by users within your domain or files shared into your domain by external users.
Open to full public
Files publicly shared with the world, anyone who comes across it can see the contents of it, users are not required to authenticate themselves or be signed into a Google account. Additionally, the Google search engine can find and index these files. This category includes full public files shared into your own domain by external users.
Files publicly shared to anyone with a link. The Google search engine cannot find or index it. Anyone who has been given the URL link to these files can view the contents. This category includes public documents shared via link into your domain by external users.
Open to external users
Any file shared to an external domain such as external editors, readers. Team Drive files with Managers or Content Managers who are from an external domain will have this classification as well.
Open to internal users
This category includes any file which is shared internally to anyone within your own domain. This includes internal editors or readers and our domain (with link). Nevertheless, these files are not shared externally to anyone outside your organization.
Team Drive files
These are Team Drive files.
When Team Drives are created, they will have Managers, Content Managers, Contributors, Viewers, and Commenters, therefore any Team Drive file which has permission shares anyone outside of the defined scope will fall into this category.
Files are not shared with anyone, period. Only the owner can see it.
Files that are moved to the Trash/Bin folder on the users myDrive.
Here’s how a file can become orphaned:
You create a file in someone else’s folder. Then they delete the folder. Your file isn’t deleted because only you can do that. But it’s no longer in a folder.
Or, you share a folder with someone who removes your file from the folder. Again, the file isn’t deleted, but it’s no longer in a folder.
This category will show you those orphaned files.
Indicates the number of users GAT+ can not scan properly. If this shows any value, check if GAT+ is turned ON for everyone within the G Suite Admin Console.
In Drive Audit, we make it easy for G Suite super admins to view the number of files across users myDrives. These are the most common file types. The values in the table include files shared into your domain by external owners.
The value for sites will show you all of the Google sites created by your domain or shared into your domain by external users.
These are Google survey forms created by your domain or shared into your domain by external users.